Celebrating excellence with the Women in Games Award 2017

women in games awardOn Friday 19th May 2017, the Women in Games awards will be taking place at the Cavendish Conference Centre in London. The awards are designed to reward the contribution of women in the UK games industry. From leaders in games development and design, to mentors and breakthrough talent. These women will be celebrated and recognised for all of the hard work they do and the positive impact they make in the industry.


The ceremony is sponsored by Facebook (headline partner), it will be streamed live by Twitch,  Aardvark Swift (category partner), Rovio (event partner), Insert Coin (event partner), The Yogscast (rising star partner) and Ukie (event partner).

The Finalists

MCV, Develop and eSports have all worked with a panel of high-profile gaming industry specialists to shortlist the talent that will be entered this year. The finalists were announced in April. There are 8 categories and a whole host of amazing women who will be celebrated. There will be many stories about success, dedication and resilience. Therefore, it is already believed that this years awards will be the highlight of the year. The categories and finalists are as follows:

  • Breakthrough Talent

Anya Elvidge – Trainee Campaign Map Artist, Creative Assembly
Jess Hider – European Community Manager for Unreal Engine, Epic Games
Naomi Kotler – Games Designer, Supermassive Games
Rosa Carbo-Mascarell – Games Lead, Creative Industries Federation
Alessia Nigretti – Professional Services, University of Sussex
Maria Fernanda Díez Huerta – Games Designer and Producer, Freelance
Sian Knight – Games Design Student, UCLan
Rachel Cabot – Boss Alien / University of Bath


  • Business Women of the Year

Helen Burnill – Commercial Director, Mediatonic
Angela Dickson – Commercial Director, Activision Blizzard
Veronique Lallier – VP European Publishing, Hi-Rez Studios
Caroline Miller – Founder and Director, Indigo Pearl
Kat Osman – Owner and Managing Director, Lick PR
Kimberley Turner – Finance Director, Double 11
Sara Grover – Head of Marketing, WB Games UK


  • Career Mentor

Lizi Attwood – Technical Director, Furious Bee
Natalie Griffith – CEO, Press Space
Susie Kim – Twitch Partnerships Manager Korea, Twitch
Caroline Miller – Founder and Director, Indigo Pearl
Erin O’Brien – Culture Developer, Gram Games
Adriana Pucciano – Lead Animator, Creative Assembly
Michelle Tilley – Senior Release Engineer, Sony Interactive Entertainment
Maria Stukoff – Head of Digital, BBC Academy
Romana Ramzan – Lecturer in Games Design, Glasgow Caledonian University


  • Creative Impact

Chantal Beaumont – Graphic Designer, Sumo Digital
Yasmine Altawell – Lead Facial Animator, The Imaginarium Studios
Jodie Azhar – Lead Technical Artist, Creative Assembly
Sally Blake – Associate Producer – The Division, Reflections, a Ubisoft Studio
Jessica Curry – Independent, The Chinese Room
Katie Goode – Creative Director, Triangular Pixels
Rebecca-Louise Leybourne – Facial Animator, The Imaginarium Studios
Rhianna Pratchett – Scriptwriter, Story Designer and Narrative Paramedic, Independent
Lulu Zhang – Lead Concept Artist, Creative Assembly


  • eSports Contender

Jasmine Kanunga – Counter-Strike Tournament Administrator, ESL and Multiplay
Susie Kim – Twitch Partnerships Manager Korea, Twitch
Veronique Lallier – VP European Publishing, Hi-Rez Studios
Kim Newsome – Founder/Editor in Chief, Esports Source
Claire Sharkey – Brand and Community Manager, Dingit.TV
Amy Yu – Director, Varsity Games
Petya Zheleva – Founder, SKYLLA


  • New Development Talent

Lucy Blundell – Game Creator, Games By Kinmoku
Lisa Burgers – Level Designer, Creative Assembly
Olivia Butler-Stroud – Environment Artist, Creative Assembly
Kate Calvin – Character Design, Animator, Voice Actor, Pewter Games Studios
Naomi Kotler – Games Designer, Supermassive Games
Mohrag Taylor – Technical Artist, Creative Assembly
Hannah McMillan – 3D Artist, Freejam


  • Rising Star

Grace Carroll – Social Media Manager, Creative Assembly
Kitty Crawford – CEO, Blackstaff Games
Kirsten Cummings – Senior Marketing Associate, Double 11
Alex Moyet – Founder and Director, Amcade
Otisha Sealy – UK Project Manager, WB Games UK
Megan Garrett – Digital Distribution Administrator, SEGA Europe
Roz Tuplin – Business Development Administrator, Games London
Lucy Galloway – Editor, 110% Gaming, DC Thomson


  • Outstanding Contribution

Jodie Azhar – Lead Technical Artist, Creative Assembly
Noirin Carmody – Founder and COO, Revolution Software
Catherine Channon – Director of PR, Warner Bros
Tanya Laird – CEO, Digital Jam LTD
Caroline Miller – Founder and Director, Indigo Pearl

Offer valid as of date published. T&Cs apply.
  • Top casinos
  • 1000 $
  • Bet365
    200 $
  • Sugarhouse Casino
    250 $
  • Unibet
    500 $